The Blues, The Gays and The Night Bus…

Hello All!

So the last few weeks have been interesting, I finally got real homesick (worst feeling ever) and spent a week pretty much like this…

feels-

I’m pretty sure my Peace Corps friends and friends back home got real tired of me feeling feelings since I’m usually like…

crying

Since this is not my first abroad rodeo I realized that it was probably my 3 month slump. I tend to get very homesick around the 3 month mark and that’s how long I’ve been in site so I’m sure that’s what it’s all about.

Fortunately for me though, shortly after my pity party was underway there was also a meeting for the LGBTQ volunteer support group. They had recently opened up the group for allies and as some of my friends know, I LOVE THE GAYS and also everything that this gif represents….

fab

So I joined the group to support my LGBTQ friends and at the same time the group was able to support me through my slump. It was all pretty much like…

pink fluffy unicorns

I love my volunteer family!

So outside of being homesick I also had my first night travel experience!

Recently Peace Corps Ecuador has started to allow the volunteers that are in the southernmost provinces to take night buses for official Peace Corps events. Since I basically live FOREVER away from Quito I decided to take my first night bus…

bad idea

Well, the trip started with all of the tickets being sold out in my site, so I got to travel 4 ½ hours to the nearest big city and catch a bus there. Once I was on the bus they promptly closed all of the windows and turned off the air conditioning so the bus then turned into a mobile sauna, after about 5 minutes I was like…

sweating

The entire time I was thinking about all of the diseases I was probably contracting from my fellow passengers and putting myself into a mini-panic. I was also next to the bathroom and I am a giant human so anytime I finally got to sleep people tripped over me and I was like…

hate

Then my ipod froze… heavy sigh… and THEN we got a flat tire… At this point I was just like…

mad

Oh but it gets even better! Once we arrived at the terminal I got on a public bus that goes about an hour outside of Quito to our training center. There were no seats so I got to stand/fall around the bus with my giant hiking backpack on. All of a sudden I got extremely hot and realized that I was about to faint… so I just dropped my backpack and sat down on the floor very casually, like…

peter-forget-how-to-sit-down-o

I was breathing like…

hyperventilating

And I’m pretty sure I looked like…

panic

And everyone around me was just like…

see

I ended up NOT actually fainting on the public bus and once I FINALLY made it to the training center I was like…

anigif_enhanced-buzz-30630-1366837360-7

And I have decided that I will probably avoid night buses in the future.

Once in Quito, everything was great! I went out dancing with my volunteer friends and got to hang out with a fellow Texan (from Fort Worth!) that works at the embassy here…

small world

So I guess it was definitely worth my most recent near death experience!

Hopefully when I go back to Quito in November it won’t be nearly as traumatizing!

Well, until next time… I hope everything is great in your part of the world!

Peace Out!

One thought on “The Blues, The Gays and The Night Bus…

  1. Finally checking my emails. So interesting. 1. Nobody ever promised you a rose garden. @. Feel your feelings. Do not try to figure it out. It is probably a great blessing and your heart opening upl

Leave a Reply

