Won’t you take me to funky town!?

OK Guys,

So I’m in a funk and not the good kind of musical funk, the funk that seems like it’s going to just keep dragging you down and down like….

faceplant

I know how funny this is, considering that my last blog was all about how excited I was to start all of my new projects and honestly about a week ago I was pretty much like this….

dancing-dog

Which is why I felt the need to get real for a moment and let you know the other side of life here! Some of you may be shocked to find out that Peace Corps isn’t all lollipops and rainbows. I know, I know, it’s hard to believe, but it’s true. Sometimes, being here is just plain hard! Peace Corps can be really challenging and frustrating and stressful. That’s kind of what we sign up for I guess, but before I got here I didn’t realize I’d sometimes feel like…

sad_face

disappointed

fangirl

conan_spaz

what

roxbury

And this is all before breakfast!

I feel like a crazy person sometimes or maybe just a hormonal teenager, but still, NOT what I was expecting.

As a volunteer (and I’m sure my fellow volunteers can back me up on this) sometimes I just feel bipolar. And of course, it all happens when you LEAST suspect it like…

chuck1

So I actually started February in very high spirits!

I went to a Superbowl party with other volunteers and the Seahawks won!

deal-with-it2

I had a meeting with the LGBTQ volunteer support group in Quito!

minion

I met the new training class and got to be all like…

jedi

I ate a lot of good food!

bacon

I continued with my old projects and started organizing new projects!

bam

And I started moving into a new apartment!

barney-confetti

Then after feeling super motivated, organized and basically on top of the world, the universe was just like…

bunny

I got sick… just a cold! Not even a big deal right!?

But it was JUST enough to knock me right off of my awesome, positive, motivated routine. Now I just feel like…

f-this

All of my projects are still moving (not smoothly, but still moving) with barely any of my assistance. I’m halfway moved into my apartment. There is SO much stuff to get done and I have the time but I just feel like….

boop

Fortunately for Peace Corps volunteers, we’re not the only ones here, which means we’re all usually going through similar stuff! So when I’m feeling homesick or exhausted or just plain crazy I’ll usually chat with another volunteer and they know what I’m going through… Also, it prevents people back home from doing this…

panic

when it’s really just nothing…

Well, I figured that the funk would pass but I still just wasn’t feeling that great… Then out of nowhere, one of my friends called and started venting to me about how she felt like she was in some kind of weird funk too! I was just like…

wait what 2

So we quickly realized that it wasn’t just me and it wasn’t just her and that probably a lot of us are feeling the exact same way. So this means that we’re not (totally) crazy and that it’s just a normal part of the transitional process that we have to work through. If nothing else, it was great to hear that I wasn’t the only one feeling that way! I mean, no one wants to be like….

i-feel-like-im-taking-crazy-pills

So while I’m not in the, perfect-volunteer-save-the-world, mindset right now, at least I have confidence that I will get back to that space soon.

Also, this situation has taught me to not bite off more than I can chew. Starting new projects is REALLY hard! Keeping current projects going can at least be a little easier, so finding the right balance can be difficult. Right now I’m balancing 3 different projects and wanting to start 4+ within the next few months! What was I thinking!? With that kind of timeline I’m not going to get anything accomplished other than making myself feel like this…

hard-life

So now it’s time to reevaluate, create other plans and not expect myself to do everything in a few months. I already thought I knew this and I usually try to be realistic when planning projects, but sometimes it’s hard to not get ahead of yourself. Which is why I guess getting sick was actually a blessing, it forced me to slow down enough to realize I needed to slow down even more.

I mean, who is going to want to do an activity with me if I’m like…

help

So don’t worry guys, everything is fine here! Just pulling myself out of THAT funk and hopefully into THIS funk…

funk

I hope everything is great in your part of the world!

Peace Out!

One thought on “Won’t you take me to funky town!?

  1. Doing well.. Zeus died Jan. 23. She had hemagioma sarcosis – an extremely fast cancer of the spleen. they die from bleeding out. She made it to the doctor. The police loaded her into the car and she was taken into the dr by stretcher. Her gums were white and her rbc was 1.00. She hung on until I could get Zach on the phone to say goodbye., My friend Robin was there in deep meditation and she died peacefully in my arms. I will tell you more about my new doggie lated. Also had hand surgery. Love, Love, ET

Leave a Reply

