Big News in Little Ecuador

Hello Everyone!

I have a lot of stuff to share with you all and this post might be a little long so…

deal with it

At the end of January I got to be a judge for an English singing competition at a high school a volunteer works at in Quito. They sang songs ranging from “Eternal Flame” to “Smells Like Teen Spirit” and we were all pretty much like…

this is awesome

Then in February Carnival happened! I went to the beach like I do every year and I got to go snorkeling with a fellow Volunteer Leader and visited some of my favorite beaches. I ended up camping with some of my other friends and I pretty much felt like this the entire weekend…

giphy

Then on my last night on the coast my roommate came down with some of his friends that were visiting from the States and we had so much fun!!! We played Carnival, which basically involves getting soaked with water and spray foam. It was pretty much like…

foam

Also during Carnival weekend I got terrible news that my aunt wasn’t doing well with her chemo treatments and she ended up passing away shortly after I received the news. It was difficult news to get and it was even more difficult since I was so far away from my family. I am grateful to my friends here in Ecuador and my family and friends back home that helped support me during that time. Thanks guys…

i love you

After Carnival we had a meeting for the LGBTQ volunteer support group which is one of my favorite times! I got to hang out with volunteers that I don’t usually get to see and then after we supported each other, we went out dancing! I was pretty much like…

dancing

It was so much fun!!! I am so happy to be a part of that lovely group with all those amazing people! It just makes my heart feel like…

happy

Work has also been going great over the last few months! I’ve been starting to suggest different project ideas at my counterpart agency and they’ve been super receptive and supportive of all my ideas. At the end of this month I’m going to have a volunteer come do a training on positive reinforcement with my coworkers.

fist pump

I recently got permission for one of my coworkers and I to go to a Recycled Art Conference that Peace Corps is putting on. I also got permission for another coworker and I to go to a training in Guayaquil on Grassroots Soccer which is a curriculum for HIV/AIDS prevention that’s combined with soccer!

Genius-new

My projects have also been growing a lot with Peace Corps and I’m super excited! An organization that I collaborated with in the States has not only agreed to let us use their substance abuse prevention curriculum here but they are also flying down to Quito to train a group of volunteers for FREE! I’m so excited I’m like…

high five

They’re also going to make me an official trainer so I’ll hopefully be able to continue training volunteers here and keep the project going!

crossing_fingers_kevin_bacon

Because of my projects growing and taking off I have some other big news to share!

I’M GOING TO EXTEND MY SERVICE FOR ANOTHER YEAR!!!

say what

Yup! I’ve decided that my projects would have a better chance of becoming sustainable if I’m around so I decided to go ahead and stay and keep working on them for yet another year. I’m still in the process of finalizing everything but I wanted to go ahead and let everyone know that apparently I’m going to stay here forever…

for ev er

This now means that (if everything goes smoothly) I will be finishing with Peace Corps in August of 2017. Don’t worry, I am going to come back for Thanksgiving and for my brother’s wedding in December so I will get to see everyone over the holidays. This also means that people can come visit me in Quito for another year!

warriors

Speaking of visitors, I am actually going to be getting 2 visitors coming down in a week! My friend who has already visited me twice (she’s a better friend than you’ll ever be) is coming down to visit AGAIN! At the same time my Spanish professor and friend is also going to be coming down that same week! It’s going to be so much fun! I will let you know how it goes I’m sure it’s going to be like…

party fun times

I’m so happy with my life here and my projects that I am very excited to see where this next year and a half takes me!

Well that’s all I have for now! Hope everything is great in your part of the world!

Peace out!

Leave a Reply

