Poco a Mucho

Hello Everyone!

Sorry I’ve really dropped the ball with posting recently! So much has been going on that time has flown by and I haven’t had much motivation to write everything down! Now it’s April and I get to catch all of you up on everything that’s gone down since last year! I know you’re all pretty much thinking…

But I hope you change your mind once you’re done reading this post!

Fortunately for you, January was pretty uneventful, I finally got out of my immobilizing brace and started physical therapy on my knee. I can’t say that it was enjoyable. I later found out that my physical therapist was having me do exercises that I shouldn’t have been doing at that level of my recovery to which I was like… 

Then after only 10 sessions, the medical staff decided that I was OK to stop physical therapy and ended my sessions without prior notice. I immediately felt like this…

I tried to go about my normal routine but I quickly realized that my original concerns were correct and that I was in no way ready to stop physical therapy. Fortunately, I brought up these concerns with the Peace Corps doctors and then requested to go to a different physical therapist and things have been going A LOT smoother!

At the new physical therapy office, I met with a doctor who gave me an evaluation and designed a treatment plan for me with my physical therapist. I’ve been going there for a while now. Last week I had to get another MRI done to make sure that my damaged tendons were healing properly and tomorrow I should get the results from that. I will then find out if I need more physical therapy or not.

Honestly, I’m sick of not being able to use my body properly, I’m STILL not able to run or jump but I am very pleased with the quality of care I’m receiving so I know I’m in good hands and that I will be able to recover and eventually do this…

In February, I got to celebrate my last Carnival in Ecuador on the coast with my friends. I had a blast going to beach and getting to relax, eat coastal food and do whatever we wanted. While most of the places were packed with people, we were in a hostel that was right on the beach a little further down from all the crowds. It was perfect! Because of my knee I was unable to do most activities so I was pretty much like…

 

Around that time I also was able to participate in and co-direct the 3rd annual Vagina Monologues in Quito! Last year I participated in them and it was a very simple performance. We each read our monologues and they were all in English, nevertheless we had a full house and a wonderful time but this year we had bigger plans.

Since women’s empowerment is still a huge issue here in Ecuador, we realized that it was crucial to have the majority of the production be in Spanish. My friend also found an actual theater that was available for us to use so that we would have a professional space. We originally didn’t have much luck recruiting women to participate but we soon found the proper space to advertise and the response was AMAZING!

In the end we recruited 18 women to participate and in just 2 weeks, with only 5 rehearsals, we put together 2 performances and raised $300 to donate to a local organization that works to eradicate sex trafficking in Ecuador!

It was extremely challenging but I was so proud of the women we worked with and the professional performance we were able to put on. It was an experience I will NEVER forget! After all was said and done we were all pretty much like…

Then shortly after all of that, 2 of my friends came to visit me from the States! We went to the Galapagos and let me tell you the entire trip was pretty much like…

We got to see giant turtles in the wild, crawl through lava tunnels, snorkel with sharks, sea turtles, manta rays, sea horses, marine iguanas and penguins! We got to see giant manta rays leaping out of the ocean, blue footed boobies doing a mating dance and watched the sun set over the ocean while drinking cocktails at a bar on the beach! All in all, I must say it was one of the best vacations I’ve ever taken and I’m so glad I got to share that experience with my friends!

Since returning from that epic vacation, I’ve been able to increase my workload since my knee has been recovering more and more. I have started going to my counterpart regularly again and am now working on my final projects. It’s hard to imagine that I will be leaving in August!

I wish I could just do this job forever but I know that I’m meant to move on to other adventures.

Well, that’s all I have for now! I hope everything is great in your part of the world!

Peace out!